Refitting is the opposite of removal – my arse!

So it was sunny this morning and it looked like great weather to put the rear wheel back on the camino.

I got my tool-kit out, put absolute radio on my iPhone and started refitting the wheels.

Helpfully when I took the wheel off I recorded it and uploaded it to YouTube. Unhelpfully I wasn’t getting a wireless signal in my garden and no 3G signal either so I did what any man would do; I looked at the bolts and guessed where they went.

The wheel was on!

Except I’d forgotten to put the chain back on. What a twat! So the spanners came back out and I took the wheel off to put the chain on and then put the wheel back on.

Great job done!

I went to tighten the brake cable but no matter how I tightened it, it was too slack at the wheel end. Then I noticed I’d not put the cable through a guide which then would tighten the cable.

I thought I would need to take the wheel off again but it was designed to slip the wire through so that saved me having to take the wheel off again.

Except I couldn’t hook the brake cable onto the hooky thing it should live in. I loosened the brake cable as much as I could but it was no use…I didn’t need to take the wheel off but I would need to loosen the bolts off to allow me to rotate the wheel enough to get the brake cable connected. Done! Finally!

I tightened up the bolts again and put the plastic chain covers on. The chain side went on and when I got round to the drive belt side I tried to put the belt on the pulley but it was no good, it wasn’t going on.

That could mean only 1 thing, I needed to loosen the bolts again to pivot the wheel to allow the belt on the pulley.

Back with the spanners and before you know it I’m done!

The plastic is on both sides, I’ve tightened the brakes and started her up.

We are good to go!

Finally!

20110829-110046.jpg

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment